I Am Not a Sunday Morning

Term Test Fall 2019

English Literature and Culture

Task 3

I Am Not a Sunday Morning

The poem “I Am Not a Sunday Morning Inside Four Walls” by Charlotte Eriksson is a short and simple poem about accepting yourselves, and not worrying about what other people think. We are now going to look at some of the literary devices used in the poem, and how they enhance this message.

In the poem the author uses a lot of visual elements, or imagery to enhance her message, for instance, by using metaphors. An example is “I am the hurricane setting fire to the forests.”  This does not only make the language of the poem more colourful, but Eriksson creates a picture in our heads of something creating a mess, or causing destruction. This makes it easier for us as readers to create a visual picture in our heads of what she is saying. The author also writes “until my bones ache and lungs split,” which is another metaphor or picture.

In addition, Eriksson uses symbols in the very beginning of the poem when writing the simple phrase, “I am not a Sunday morning inside four walls with clean blood and organized drawers.” This means in simple terms that “I am a mess.” Eriksson uses symbols like “a Sunday morning,” where “a Sunday Morning” can symbolise “a calm day” or a holy day. What this does is creating several layers of meaning to the sentences when describing herself. She also uses symbols like “I live in my own flames,” where flames can symbolise destruction or energy. “Flames,” in this case, represents several traits, and means more than just flames. This makes us, the readers, think and encourages audience response. Eriksson’s words and description helps us understand the message by giving an image of what she means.

As well as imagery, the rhythm of the poem helps enhance the message by strengthening the meaning of the words. For instance, Eriksson uses literary devices like repetition to give the poem its rhythm. She repeats “I am” throughout the text, and towards the end “I run.” This gives the poem a flow and emphasizes the words, and the meaning of the poem. When repeating “I am,” it enhances that the poem is about “me”, or herself, or even us the readers. This makes the poem also more personal, and relatable, and makes a stronger impact. She also respites “run” three time right after each other, which creates a sing-song-rhythm. It makes the poem flow better.

Including repetition Eriksson also uses alliteration to give the poem its rhythm. An example is “burning too bright,” and “alive or awake.” This helps to create character and a mood by repeating similar sounds. It also gives the poem a certain flow, and gains our, the audience, attention.

Not to mention, the metre of the poem also works as a literary device. If we look at the metre in the beginning of the words the sentences have many syllables, and are quite long, the first sentence having twelve syllables. This makes the speed quite slow and the beginning, and every word clearer. Than towards the end, the sentences are shorter and have fewer syllables, which makes the poem naturally speedier at that point. It is almost like a build-up, or a climax towards the end. This helps making the poem even more powerful, and the impact even greater.

As a result, the message of the people makes a strong impact because of the authors talented writing.  Altogether, the literary devices add depth and deeper meaning to the poem and its message. The metaphor and symbols add a deeper meaning to the poem, and gives the opportunity to interpret them in many ways, and its meanings. The rhythm, and its build up as well makes the poem more impactful.

The poems message is that “I am not a Sunday morning inside four walls,” in other words,  I am not a calm person that have my life in order, “I am the hurricane setting fire to the forests,” I am the person who creates mess and chaos around me, but even though I am all of those things “you choose to see it,” and I did not ask you to. I decide who I want to be, and what I want to do. “I am the slave and ruler of my own body.”

Leave a comment